My True Self
The deafening silence,
Is making my heart go numb.
And after all the violence,
I hope things can be undone.
All I want to be is respected,
Is that too much to ask?
Wherever I go I feel neglected,
Everyday I am forced to wear a mask.
That stops me from being an outcast,
It stops me from being alone.
Even though I know it will never last,
I have no choice; my future is set in stone.
But when will this torture end?
Will God answer the thousands of prayers I’ve sent?
And will He make my wish come true?
Will He help me become someone new?
Will He help me be respected?
So I’ll never have to feel neglected?
Will He help me to finally take off my mask?
Or is that, yet again, too much to ask?
Leave a Reply

